Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Day 26: Driving day...thru Ontario to MI

    August 7, 2019 in Canada ⋅ ☁️ 72 °F

    Today was 400 mi into and out of Ontario Canada and through eastern and central Michigan. It was really cool that the highway along Lake Ontario that we drove today is named 'Queen Elizabeth Way'!

    We had an eventful start to the day. After breakfast, we stopped for gas in St. Catherine, Ontario at Esso. I pulled in and had a feeling it was going to be tight getting out. I went to pump gas and there was no power to any of the four pumps. Then I realized that the pumps were in the parking lot of a Dairy Queen. The only thing I know is that I got no gas and got myself in a jam.

    For the first time this whole trip, I asked Evelyn to get out and spot the driver's side of the trailer to be sure I didn't hit anything as I swung around. Good thing I did...with about a foot of trailer to go to clear the concrete pole at the end of the pumps, I had to turn to miss the curb in front of the truck and the rear end of the trailer swung out. When Evelyn yelled stop (and I stopped), the trailer was kissing the concrete pole.

    After some effort got out with no damage to the trailer.

    We arrived at the Derrer's at about 7:20 and had a fun evening poolside with them and Meg's parents.

    No real pics from today but I'll see if we can't find something to post.
    Read more