Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Mil Variedades/Finca Esperanza

    January 9 in Nicaragua ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    After an amazing porridge breakfast I realized I got super lucky: I had left my hiking shoes in the one spot of the finca where the roof leaks. AND we had a little bit of rain last night. What are the chances of that?!?!? Pretty similar to winning the lottery, so remind me to play next chance I get.
    No worries: My trusted Timberlands did not hesitate when called📞 for duty. 🫡 And because I was feeling really fortunate, I made sure to switch the moist socks out as well.

    The first stop today was the small Mil Variedad Finca. It’s at 1500müm (sea level) and you could immediately tell it was cooler up there than the Fincas we were used to.
    After picking the best mandarines 🍊 and eating them straight off the tree we dodged a nest of killer wasps to continue to identify different coffee species.

    Honestly I was just blown away by the view. I think Tim is a bit frustrated with me - at this point I feel like I really can’t tell them apart… 🌳🌲😅😆

    Ok, the bigger ones are “Mara” (save the ending so it could be either Marogogype or Maracaturra) and I feel like the most common one is Paraeinema. 😂🤣

    …and I totally needed to get my notes to finish this post 🙄🤨
    Read more