Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Sunday Beautiful Sunday

    August 2, 2020 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 14 °C

    What a beautiful day.
    Up at 7am to be ready for the boogie boarding and surfing that the young ones were going to do.
    Met up with Jess and Matt at ‘Miles’ and set off walking through the caravan park out to the beach.
    A one minute walk down a sandy path through scraggy bush that opens onto the ocean vista.
    The sight of that magnificent blue water, white breaking waves and pure white sand takes your breath away ... every single time.
    It was a magnificent day.
    Sunny and warm already.
    Walked towards Woopi ... almost to Teabag Corner.
    So named by Daryl as Martine was ill recently but still insisted on going in the water.
    Daryl said all she could do was flop up and down like a teabag.
    Hence the name.
    ( only known to an exclusive few....)

    Emily and Matt headed in.
    Emily with her wetsuit and boogie board.
    Matt with his long board.
    Matt is trying to learn to surf.
    I have included a picture of him showing us on the sand how You Tube told him to do it.

    Jess, Lacey and I were the cheer squad on the sand.
    And they had a ball.
    Then Jess headed in as well.
    I hadn’t thought that I would.
    That was a mistake.
    I will be in there next time.

    They were in the water an hour and a half with a 10 minute break in the middle.
    Lovely, lovely time.
    And Matt was nearly standing up...
    Lacey in the meantime was digging to China.
    And then would promptly stop and sit in the hole.

    Talked to so many people ... and dogs.

    Headed back about 10am for toast ( first time I used the George Foreman ), avocado and bacon for a very late breakfast.
    Emily headed off for her first 5 hour session... getting a new tattoo.

    I changed into bathers and shorts.
    It was hot!
    And set up the hammock and read with Lacey curled up on my legs.

    Matt and Jess came and borrowed the kayak for a paddle on the lake.

    Then a couple of hours later, I went kayaking.
    I remember paying a bit for wheels for the kayak.
    Best thing ever.
    I latch Lacey’s lead onto my belt so I am hands free.
    She leads the way and I tow the kayak across the grass, down the small ramp, through very shallow water onto the sandbar, and launch.
    I now put the wheels ( they fold up ) into the back of the kayak under the rubber netting.
    It’s brilliant.
    Means I leave nothing on shore and can finish wherever I like.

    Beautiful on the lake.
    I paddled and then drifted.
    Loved it.

    Emily’s back.
    She’s pleased with the tattoo so far.
    Spaghetti bolognese for dinner.

    Shower.
    In bed now. 7.25pm.

    Xxxxx
    Read more