Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 66

    Wonderful day today

    September 14, 2020 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 17 °C

    Sunny.
    26 degrees.
    Not a breath of wind.

    Up at 7.30am.
    Off for a walk, in shorts, left across the low tide creek.
    Magnificent.

    Talked to our regular dog walkers.
    Cody is unrecognisable.
    She’s been clipped.

    Emily worked.
    I went grocery shopping at Woolies and got some extra stuff for her birthday.
    I am going to have fun with this.

    We walked again, in between Emily’s meetings.
    OK.
    Emily back to work.
    Me?
    I am kayaking.
    The lake was as smooth as glass.

    So I tow the kayak on wheels across the sandbar to our launch site.
    Lacey is attached to a belt around my waist.
    I tow the kayak.
    She walks ahead of me and leads the way.
    She absolutely knows the difference between this, and a walk.

    Into the lake.
    Lacey on point.
    I rowed close to the edge of the sandbars where the water is 12 inches deep.
    Much better.
    I really cannot get the thought out of my head that something big lurks beneath that calm water.
    So we had a wonderful time.
    Nothing could leap out of the water and get us, so we relaxed.
    ( Well. I don’t think Lacey was worried at all. But she hasn’t seen Jaws.)

    Had a wonderful time.
    Then pulled into the sandbar.
    Put the wheels back on the kayak and towed it where I could relaunch and paddle towards that magnificent turquoise water near the sea.
    Skimming across the water here.
    It was only 9” deep most of the way.
    (If there were any fins, I would have seen them!)

    This area is magnificent.
    Pulled into shore.
    Clipped Lacey’s lead to the kayak, stripped off and swam.
    I floated.
    I swam .... backwards ... the tide was coming in fast.
    I played for about half an hour.
    Then relaunched and let the tide race us back into the lake.
    This was so much fun, I did a u-turn, paddled against the tide, u-turned again and happily floated back into the lake.

    Back to camp.
    Rinsed Lacey in the dog wash.
    Showered.
    Wonderful steak and salad for dinner.
    Outside.
    Such a balmy evening.

    Wonderful, wonderful day.

    Xxx

    ( Probably not sleeping tonight. Just ate so many choc peanuts while typing.)
    Read more