Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 72

    Bulahdelah to Goulburn.

    September 20, 2020 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 16 °C

    Up at 7am.
    Easy pack up though it was raining.
    ( The kayak got a bit wet sitting outside for the night.)
    Took Lacey for a couple of walks in the caravan park.

    Left at 8.10am after calling into the office to pay for the metered power that I had used overnight.
    “ Nothing owing”, they said.
    I had used 13 cents worth of electricity.
    That’s the fridge, blow heater for 10 minutes and phone charger.

    Off we went.
    It rained heavily for about 2 hours of the trip.
    That windscreen gel that makes the raindrops run up the windscreen is wonderful.
    I put some of that on when I washed Tin Tin at Daryl’s weeks and weeks ago.

    The getting past Newcastle was easy.
    Over the steel bridge, right then left.
    Nailed it I thought!
    This was where we found it very confusing on the way up.
    Lots of traffic and traffic lights.

    Nope.
    That was not the spot.
    Somewhere approaching Sydney was that awful spot.
    And the phone told me to go left.
    So I did.
    But it didn’t tell me to go left, then IMMEDIATELY right.
    So I was in trouble.
    Off I went down some street towards Sydney ...
    Didn’t hit the harbour bridge so I suppose all was OK.
    It was absolutely pouring and my phone kept saying ... “U-turn. U-turn.”
    Keep your shirt on.

    U-turned.
    Back on track.

    Half ran a red light.
    Skidded to a halt.
    I was going very slowly though.
    Too busy trying to figure out where I was.
    Almost missed the light.
    Lacey fell into her water bowl, perched high on things in the passenger footwell.
    Nothing else moved though.

    Settle down.
    Just trundle along slowly.
    Which I did with no further dramas.

    OK
    So roads trips seem to be OK so long as I do not go within 100kms of a major city.
    Really enjoy the country driving.
    Hate those intersections and right/left turns.
    (Plan to investigate how to get past Sydney going via Alice Springs next time.)

    Onto the Hume.
    A pit stop and walk for Lacey.
    Needed petrol.
    Went off the highway to a small town.
    Asked directions to a petrol station.
    A lovely man gave me directions.
    Then his wife came up and gave me ‘proper’ directions.
    Funny.

    Back on the Hume.
    Heavy, heavy fog.
    Then pouring rain.

    Good trip though.

    Found the caravan park easily.
    An older park.
    Lots of big trees and a fenced ‘off lead’ area for dogs.
    Hardly anyone here though.
    Dead quiet.
    Very deserted.
    Correction - I have wandered around and talked to a few people. This is a huge park.
    People are just so far apart.

    Ate chicken and salads at 2.30pm

    Had an early shower.
    Lots of walks for Lace.

    I had water dripping off the back curtain of the van as I drove along.
    Could see the drops falling inside in the rear view mirror.
    I think I caught a corner of the back curtain when I closed it this morning so it seeped in.

    The doona was very wet at that end when I pulled in here.
    So, as I do not have metered power here, I am drying it in front of the blow heater.
    Working brilliantly.

    Beautiful and sunny here now ... 4.45pm.

    Will relax with a book or something after another walk.

    Pretty excited about driving to Albury tomorrow.
    Rang cousin Michael.
    He had stayed at the Woopi Caravan Park.
    Knew it well and loved it!!!
    So onto to Albury tomorrow ...
    Love that Hume Resort right on the water.
    Will be strange to go back without Emily.
    That is where our adventure started.

    Xxxx
    Read more