Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Tour of London - British Museum

    April 18, 2016 in England ⋅ ⛅ 52 °F

    Slept like a rock. Had to set three alarm clocks to get up. Went down for a fabulous breakfast buffet in the hotel. Then we headed out for the Tower of London to see the crown jewels. Excellent tour guide explained many sites as we headed that way. I tried to nick (steal) one of the Queen's headpieces which I thought would befit my lovely wife but they saw it poking out of my backpack at the last moment. You were almost Queen for the day my dear! (to get a tour of the tower yourself - check out this youtube video - www.youtube.com/watch?v=k5raGfZXCEU)

    Afterwards drove to Buckingham palace to see the changing of the guard. It looked like it was going to rain but held off. Good thing as they cancel it when it rains. Lotta people there compared to when I was there on Sunday. I can imagine that in the summertime it's a total zoo. Took a video of the changing of the guard.

    Headed back towards the hotel where they dropped us off and then I and some friends went via taxi to the British Museum for the afternoon Back at the hotel, we departed again for High Tea at a very posh hotel - the Milestone (bit.ly/1MOZmkI) It will cost you a sixpence or two to stay here for the night. Very engaging General Manager gave us a Tour of the hotel. It's one of the Red Carnation properties , which are high end. Then they bought out the goodies - Little sandwiches, scones, and other little pastry like items-all of which were incredibly delicious and will probably cause a stroke to happen shortly. Somewhere I lost my blood sugar testing kit - think it slipped out of my backpack on the plane, which I'm now kinda glad I lost! What you don't know, can't hurt you, right? Yep, that must be it!

    Back again to the hotel for a respite from that attack on the senses before we head out once again to see a Key ceremony put on by the Beefeaters.

    Of to the Tower again around 7:30pm to see the Key ceremony. Bit chilly - nice nighttime photography opportunities along the Thames of the Tower Bridge and a few other iconic landmarks. Beefeater guy was hugely entertaining chap - toured us around the grounds of the Tower regaling us with various stories until we saw the actual ceremony itself, which itself is done in total silence, except for the clacking of soldiers' shoes on the cobblestones and loudly barked commands. Started off with a soldier striding along the cobblestones, carrying just a lantern. No photos allowed, so you will have to come to London to see for yourself. But I believe the ceremony is booked up through 2017 so you'd better start planning now!
    Finished up around 10:30pm and headed back on the bus to the hotel. Before crashing , we headed to a nearby pub for food and beer. Good beer I might say. :) More pics to follow
    Read more