Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Al correo

    July 4, 2018 in Chile ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    So went to the post office (el correo) and wow... Never complain about waiting. So when I lived here before I would wait in the velvet-rope line for 15-25 minutes (Once was no wait, once was 45 minutes). This time an hour and 43 minutes!! But, it is more customer-friendly. You take a number and go run errands. I took a number, walked to a airline agency, ordered a plane ticket, walked back through the plaza, talked to a nun, returned to the correo and saw the numbers had progressed 23 since I had left. I went to the biblioteca which was BEAUTIFUL. Looked at art then went back to the correos. I waited, chatted with the guard who was an Uber driver teaching himself English. A Colombian thought I was Chilean and asked me post-office protocol. I explained it and we chatted. In the background there were movie previews on a small TV looping for people to watch while they waited... You know...Chile. :)Read more