Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Thera, Greece

    July 8, 2016 in Greece ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    One thing about traveling, is that it is never smooth sailing!

    So... We pretty much spent the whole day at the airport. Our flight back to London was at 630am, but it got delayed until 1pm therefore we missed our connecting flight in Athens. By the time we got to Athens it was at 3pm, and our next flight was at 7pm that night.

    We arrived at Heathrow 9pm, customs took forever and we managed to get out of the airport at 1045pm. My sister and I decided to catch a cab but the driver was taking his sweet arse time, it was costing us a bundle. He drove for 5min and it had already gotten to £20, so we told him to turn back and drop us off at the airport. I rang my friend James (my phone was dying too), and he said if all goes wrong he could come get us at the nearest Macky Ds.

    I decided to catch the tube. Now, my sister didn't know this (I had to look after my sister and there really was no ooint in the 2 of us in a panic) but I was in a panic - pretty stressed! I knew the stations shut at 1230am, and by the time we managed to put some money on our Oyster cards and made it to the platform, it was 1115pm. The train came and it took about 45mins to get to Piccadilly, then we switched lines to get to Temple. By the time we got to Temple, it was 1225am. Such a close call! Finally so close to our hotel, it was only about a 10min walk.

    We were dying to get to our hotel because.....
    Read more