Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 62 - Split, Croatia

    September 9, 2023 in Croatia ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    Today we woke up and to say I felt exhausted was an understatement, we had breakfast in the apartment and went to a local cafe for a coffee.

    Unfortunately I wasn’t feeling the best so the best coffee we’ve had in a while didn’t go far and we had an amazing donut to share that I would usually demolish went unfinished.

    I went back to rest while Katie watched some shows on the iPad, ate a bag of chips and did some washing… all in her words! Also she planned a trip to the beach that apparently I crashed as I asked how are you getting there… her reply was - ‘ I dunno, I’ll figure it out’.

    So we walked down and got Katie some lunch then ubered to Bene Beach which, is on the tip of Marjan park, which the Split is trying to keep as a forest where you can hike around the tracks. 35,00 trees recently had to be cut down due to a disease in the trees was spreading, luckily the trees are naturally growing back as well while being monitored for further diseases.
    I also found out you can’t Uber all the way in seeing its a park they are trying to keep well vegetated, so the Uber dropped us as far as he could and we walked the further 1km in.

    We stayed here for a couple of hours then opted for the bus back which comes right to Bene Beach, typical Croatian bus timetable though, the bus was late but we were still thankful there was a bus.

    Tonight was another low key event where I slept and Katie watched more shows on the iPad.
    Read more