Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Pamplona to Puente La Reina

    September 23, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    Today was a slow start, as I couldn’t drag myself out of bed until around 8:30am. I have a little bit of a cold, with a sore throat and runny nose. I took a COVID test, which was negative. I couldn’t help but feel like I was taking a pregnancy test in the middle of the street in Pamplona.

    The walk was long but fairly easy today. At least five kilometers was just getting out of Pamplona and I went further than necessary since I got distracted and subsequently lost while dodging pedestrians. Thankfully, a wonderful old Spanish man could see that I was a pilgrim in distress and walked me back to the trail. I’m not sure what it is, but I can clearly feel a respect and admiration from the old men of the area. They are more likely to say hello (or holà) and wish me a “buen Camino” than any of the other demographics that I pass.

    Though the day was overcast, I didn’t get rained on like I was worried about. Instead, it was just mild and a very nice walk. On one stretch of walking along farmland, there were almond trees planted along the way. I would not have known this, however, except that a previous pilgrim wrote “ALMONDS” on a rock with an arrow pointing at the trees. I think I was one of the only people who heeded this recommendation because the passing pilgrims looked at me like I was crazy as I gathered the dropped nuts.

    I’ve found that most of the pictures I take are of plants I think are cool or art installations. Today I was even brave enough to ask someone to take my picture in front of the famous steel pilgrims from the movie The Way.

    I made it to Puente La Reina in time to shower and take a quick nap before dinner. Sadly, one of my roommates tonight is a woman I don’t particularly care for. At least it’s just a night!

    Tomorrow I set off for Estella, where I have two nights booked in a private room. I’m hoping this will give me time to get well and rest while this bug runs though my system.
    Read more