Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Ayurveda

    May 5 in India ⋅ ⛅ 35 °C

    After the waterfalls we made our way to Thrissur. On the way we stopped at a restaurant for a traditional Kerala lunch. The food was really lovely but the portions was small. I'd read about this style of food served on a banana leaf. You were meant to eat it in a certain order. In the restaurant they didn't bother to let us know which order to eat the meal.

    The ride to the hotel was uneventful. I had a traditional Ayurveda treatment booked for the evening. It was meant to be an oil massage. I've had lots of massages over the years and this was the most bizarre. When I arrived the masseuse said to take of my clothes and then she stood there and watched me! She then tied this string with a thin strip of tissue paper around my waist to cover my vagina and asked me to lay on my front. As my hair is in braids I told her not to touch my hair but she could proceed. As I lay on this wooden table with raised sides she poured oil over the entire back of my body. It was so much oil it pooled on the sides of the table. She then started rubbing my calves up and down in a quick motion. After doing the same to each section of my back I turned over and she did the same to my front. It wasn't a massage per say but more of an oily rub down. Then she lead me to an open room and poured soapy water over me then proceeded to rub me down again now with soap and this time I'm completely naked. I was too shocked to say anything and just went with the flow. It's surely something I'll remember for a long while.
    Read more