Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Treatments

    May 13 in India ⋅ ☁️ 30 °C

    I left the big group behind today for the last section of this trip, 3 days at an Ayurveda treatment facility. Two others booked this extension so we all shared the transfer car here. I naturally woke up early so caught the sunrise from my hotel room. It was lush.

    After breakfast we set off on the hour long drive to the facility. The drive went through a fishing village. There were churches every 5 minutes on the drive. The driver said the village was 95% Christians. It was weird driving past so many churches in such a short period of time especially ones with large statues of pink figures outside.

    The treatment centre is set up on a cliff edge overlooking the sea. It's basic accommodation but lovely grounds. Lots of places to sit with a book. The walk to the beach is easy enough 8 mins down the hill. Again no shade on the beach and rough sea so can't enter the water.

    I had 2 treatments back to back to ensure I had both today. I received a face massage followed by a dry scrub massage followed by an oil scrub massage then a seated back and shoulders massage and finally a steam in hot box. This is finally a good place to experience Ayurveda. All my treatments were top notch. I fell asleep whilst she was massaging my face it was so relaxing.

    The meals are tiny and vegan. They are delicious though so I can't complain.
    Read more