Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Black Sand beach

    May 15 in India ⋅ ☁️ 31 °C

    Today is my last full day in Kerala! I fly at 4.30am tomorrow morning so this will be a long day. I'm having a lie in as it'll be a long travel period and I can't sleep on planes. This morning flew past. I had my 1st session at 11.30am. The masseuse were so cute. They said they will miss me. They have never met someone from the Caribbean so I was a novelty for them. They kept saying how beautiful I am. It was very sweet. I'm glad that the scrubs are done though. My skin feels fully exfoliated! It doesn't help that I'm sitting in the sun alot without sunscreen after these treatments.

    I realised that I didn't take any pics in the red robes that we wear to go to get our treatments. We are completely naked under the robes. The masseuse come and collect us from our rooms and lead us holding hands towards the treatment rooms. It's an interesting sight to see people in red robes being lead by therapists in purple jackets to dark rooms. When we get to the rooms we take off the robe and put on a piece of tissue lining around our crotch. Some people wander around the grounds in the robes all day.

    I walked a few km to black beach today just to get a change of scenery. It wasn't fully black sand but was nice to see more or varkala. The North cliff is definitely more crowded and touristy. I wore a dress I've had since 1996 today. I love that dress. The colour doesn't fade and since it's a wrap dress it still fits. I bought it for our high school senior day. I wear it every few years now just so I can maintain it.

    I came back to have my final treatment and I asked the girls to take my picture in the steam box. It's super old fashioned but effective. I love the basic but effective treatments they provide at this facility. I caught my final sunset on the cliff. Waiting now to go to the airport.
    Read more