Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 63

    Cunnamulla

    August 3, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 33 °C

    90km of red dirt roads ahead of us we left Trilby Station Saturday morning. We crossed lots of cattle grid humps, and washed out ‘road’ due to rain damage causing corrugation. I have discovered that the front passenger seats are heated and you need them out back. Every bad bit of road you start thinking about ‘my’ packing jobs and what was happening inside the van. For some reason I seem to be the unlucky one ( all the girls report their vans always stay clean nothing out of place ) whereas, our van looks like someone has left all the drawers and cupboards open, totally ransacked it tossed potatoes and toilet paper and random bits about, then thrown in a shovel full of red dust just to finish it off. BB reckons it is because I have created a travelling supermarket, as every time he tries to get something out of a cupboard random things and packets of food fall out, was I planning to open and Aldi in Darwin! Quick stop in Louth I re sorted the van out, BB got the coffee, and we were back on the dirt again. I am not a ‘preferred’ driver apparently but I do have other jobs. Try to read the map as requested to assure BB that we are not lost and provide general navigation advice. I also clean the ‘drivers’ glasses when requested, unwrap all ‘his’ lollies, ensure 2 way radio is turned on and kept on Channel 40. I am also expected to provide all in car entertainment, and as luck would have it I found a great radio station 585 AM.’Outback Radio’ Great music with hardly any Ads. They play half a dozen well known popular songs from 60’s 80’s. Songs you can sing a long too, as I know the words to most of them I do sing a long, then you get to hear a swag of country music songs. One of the songs they played was called “She thinks my Tractor’s Sexy” the words were so funny I cracked up laughing and then BB spoilt the mood and said he liked the country music blocks the best cos I did not know the words and could not sing a long ha ha . Not sure why BB said before we left that I would get bored with the outback scenery and being in the car rip as I am really enjoying it and having lots of fun. I am thinking it is going to be a long trip to Darwin when I get to plug in my USB stick.
    We arrived in Cunnamulla in the early afternoon and checked into the Caravan Park, we were the lucky ones and scored the ‘worst and muddiest’ site in the Park.
    Sunday morning we had a ‘Café’ cooked breakfast in the Main Street. It was busy, and we found out there was a Race Meeting ‘ the battle of the bush’ at the Cunnamulla Racetrack that day. . So off course, we went with Kotzy and Jo. No TAB the 2 bookies present would have had a better day than all of us! At the end of the meet they tried to auction off a horse that had lost ‘his’ race and the his last 5 starts in a row. No one bought him, BB later said ‘we’ ended up even for the day, which is funny as I did not actually tell him how much I had lost before I gave up and had a few drinks instead. On way home we got lost looking for a particular garage where Diesel was 10cents a litre cheaper for Kotzy. We called out to the Cronulla Weir, and later went out for tea at the Pub only because we had ‘scored’ a free drink voucher which we could not let go to waste. ‘One’ drink obviously our reputation has already spread in the Bush. Hope you like the pictures attached I took 93 at the races alone but only kept half a dozen.
    Read more