Satelit
Tunjukkan pada peta
  • Hari 16

    Day 15, Burgos rest day

    7 Jun 2023, Sepanyol ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    Annoyingly I woke up at 6am this morning when I should have been having a big lie-in but it was good to have a quiet day and Burgos was a great place to spend it. However, I was glad to have seen Burgos in yesterday’s sunshine because today was cloudy and cool.
    I went to the post office and sent off my On trainers to the hotel where we will stay in Santiago. All managed remarkably efficiently with the post office assistant despite our limited common ground linguistically. Getting rid of the old trainers should make it a lot easier to pack my rucksack every morning and must make it lighter. My other practical task was to replace my fit flops and buy a day rucksack.
    Four of us (all resting) had lunch in the vegan restaurant where Fiona and I had eaten yesterday then we spent a good hour looking around Burgos’s magnificent cathedral.
    We also visited the Museum of Human Evolution which explains the recent remarkable archeological finds at Atapuerca, a village we passed through yesterday. They have found the remains there of Homo Antecessor, a predecessor of the Neanderthals, dating back 1.3 million years. It’s believed to be the earliest evidence of humanoid existence in Europe. They believe they were similar in height to us but broader and stronger. They were thought to be cannibals who particularly targeted children and teenagers. I hoped this information wasn’t being conveyed to the primary school children who were trooping through the museum at the same time as us.
    Baca lagi