Satélite
Exibir no mapa
  • Dia 15

    Day 12

    20 de outubro de 2023, Austrália ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Pemberton to Northcliffe 40 klms

    Seems when I’m staying in town my days are regulated by the delightful morning greetings offered by the cheerful baristas whose caffeine gift, albeit paid for by myself, prepares me for yet another day of wonder. Heavens knows, should I ever get a grumpy barista - it might well be my undoing.
    In the wake of a gracious good morning and a wish for safe travels bestowed upon me I trundled away. Following a single track amongst huge Karri trees lead me towards the Gloucester Tree. Once used as a fire lookout it has a platform accessible by metal rungs and is about 53 metres high. But today it was closed with hoardings and warnings. I can say - I’ve been there, done nought. Not even a photo to boot!
    The remainder of today’s journey incorporated more single track, free flowing enjoyable moments and around every bend the never ceasing wonders of nature. She truly is a wonder to behold!
    Yet another soul soothing, cool tempering moment captured my attention as I came upon the River Road bridge a glorious reminder of engineering of the now lost railway infrastructure. Where there is a bridge there is often water and if it’s clean and it’s safe to do so I’ll have a dip. Cool, clean, refreshed I was back on track.
    Having decided to take a rest day I’m shacked up in the Northcliffe Hotel for two nights. Northcliffe is a small town and apart from my digs I’m centered around the General Store and the scrumptious Cliffe Cafe. They’ve become my hub as it’s the only precinct within which I can use Wi-Fi.
    Throughout my journey thus far I’ve met some great people and it’s their understanding of your plight, the highs and lows and the challenges shared that bind us together. Once again, I’ve had to share a concern of mine and seek others mechanical know how. You see, my back brake is failing and I’m throwing my concern out to the universal minds of pedaling Munda Biddians.
    A major reason for my rest day tomorrow is to take a brake and fix it!
    Clean, fed weary and pondering sleep calls.
    Leia mais