Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Fifth Ave

    October 17, 2023 in Mexico ⋅ ☁️ 28 °C

    Tue 17th Oct: Enjoyed my early morning walk along the beach yesterday so much decided to set the alarm to do it again this morning. Didn't get as far today, as my stomach is a bit dodgy I think from the antibiotics I decided to take to help my ear infection, so had to rush bac - think I will stop taking them. In the meantime Doug decided to get a headstart on his NZ ocean swimming training and did a 1.2 km swim. After our cornflakes and yogurt we headed bikini shopping. Tried on about 8 pairs over 2 shops, and finally selected a new one, it was abit of dilemma whether to buy or not, really liked it the most but the pants were abit brief at the back for my liking so will have to replace them, at least it was on sale with 60% off. We continued strolling along 5th Avenue, all pedestrian only, right to the ferry terminal. Last night we decided to go to Cozumel Island and do a snorkeling tour, even though if I was sensible I shouldn't because it was to soon for my ears, but I did buy some ear plugs to wear. Anyway we sussed out the ferry for tomorrow, as we were walking back I went to one of the many hair braiding stores to find out the price. We stayed and chatted to a young woman from Mexico City who was getting her and her niece's hair done, trying to decide whether to do it not. I thought I might and they try to get you in the chair before you change your mind but we were really hungry and I wanted to wash my hair first so said we would come back. We also saw a store doing photos with young cats, not domestic cats but a lion, tiger, jaguar, and a black jaguar. We were tempted, just to be able to hold and pat them would be such an unique experience. However the price of $1000 mxn (NZ$100) per animal was a bit off putting, then I started thinking of the ethical side of it, and it just didn't sit well with us. These animals shouldn't be inside a room for the enjoyment for tourists, but roaming in the wilds, even though they are breed for this purpose, and apparently when they are 6 months old will go back to the farm to breed themselves, it is still a sad situation for these supposedly wild creatures. So unfortunately no photos for us. Back at the apartment we had a late lunch and then waited around as Doug had a phone call about a potential job at 6 pm. We eventually walked back down to the center and I got a couple of side braids done. Then went on the hunt for a non tourist restaurant for dinner.Read more