Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 420–425

    Nadja in São Paulo/Foz do Iguaçu

    November 1, 2023 in Brazil ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    After 14 months of travelling always together it was time for a solo trip. Vini didn't want to go back to São Paulo for a climbing competition so I decided to go there on my own.
    For the 6h drive from Curitiba to SP I could join a family that was going to the competition as well. Once we arrived I went to my hostel that was only 50m away from the climbing gym. The hostel was alright and I shared the room with a cool colombian girl but I was already missing luxury Vanbora 😌.
    On the following day it was qualification day. It felt weird to compete again in a lead competition but I managed to climb very focused and calm and made into finals in 1st place together with 4 other women.
    24h later it was time for finals. I felt good and was psyched to climb! Once again I managed to climb well and could clip the last quickdraw. Unfortunately the route was too easy and 3 other women managed to climb the route too. That meant the ranking was made by time. As I was the slowest one I got the unlucky 4th place 🤷. I still had a lot of fun and enjoyed the feeling of competing and seeing all the other girls 🤗

    The following day I had time for a quick sightseeing tour and then it was already time to take the bus to Foz do Iguaçu, the border between 🇧🇷🇵🇾🇦🇷.
    After a 17h bus drive, a freezing night (I was the only one without a blanket..) with little sleep we arrived in Foz do Iguaçu. Before visiting the famous wateralls I crossed "el puente de amistad" to get to Paraguay. Beside of buying a blanket for the next bus drive I didn't do much. Paraguay seemed poor and not very nice compared to Brazil. For the drive back to Foz I decided to go by mototaxi as the streets were calm and with little traffic. I was sharing my location with Vini so he could follow me the whole time! The helmet you get for the drive was not the best (way too big) but the drive was nice and I made it safely to the bus station.

    Next stop were the impressive waterfalls. Hugest waterfall system of the world is the publicity. Indeed it was huge and amazing! Especially with the amount of water at the moment (16x more water than normally because of many rainy days and storms).

    On the same day/night I took the bus back to Pirai where I would meet Vini and Leki 12h later 🤗

    I enjoyed my solo trip a lot. But I'm happy to be back with my boys and Vanbora 🥰
    Read more