Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 44

    Finland: Tornio Camping

    August 24, 2023 in Finland ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    It was a vast improvement on our previous night's accommodation when we arrived to an actual campsite in Finland. Running water, electricity and no mosquitoes! Bloody luxury! It was also at this campsite that we would dive straight into a very Finnish thing to do i.e. using a SAUNA at the end of the day. And one way using a sauna is very different in Finland to more western culture, is that in Finland, this is done entirely in the nude (at this campsite, they did have separate saunas for men and women). So off I trotted to the men's sauna after sending Emz on her merry way to the women's sauna. Thankfully, a lifetime of hockey and cricket locker-rooms had prepared me for this so it was really no big deal to do this. However, I did feel I was the scrawny wing, in a locker-room filled with the forwards of an unfit, overweight, middle aged rugby team when I entered the sauna. Later, after I told Emz my story, she told me of her sauna experience. By the sounds of it, if I had the back row forwards in my sauna, then Emz had the tight-head prop in her sauna. A poor lady that probably hadn't seen her foof in years by the sounds of it! Anyways, an interesting experience all round.

    Our last night at this camp was spent having a braai and sipping wine whilst watching probably a once in a lifetime demolition by the Springboks over the All Blacks! A truly incredible experience and for almost the first time, both Emz and myself were homesick to London as I think almost every expat Saffa we know was in attendance to that historic game! I just hope we haven't peaked too early! Come on Bokke!🇿🇦💪

    It's also important to note that Emz won her first game of Scrabble at this campsite! As revenge, she beat me on her final move when I was leading. Our games are anything but tight!
    Read more