Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 70

    Slovenia: Ptuj

    September 19, 2023 in Slovenia ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    As a student, I'd done a holiday exchange with Slovenia so I'm quite familiar with the country (although, we were students at the time, so it was a bit of a (drunken) blur😬). However, I don't ever recall us going to this town which is also supposedly the oldest town in Slovenia and dates back to the stone age. The present town was built at the location of an old Roman fort from 69AD. I guess it is 'just another beautiful, historic town with a castle and cobbled streets' found throughout Europe. There are so many towns like this across Europe that one almost becomes immune to their beauty on a long road trip like this, but I guess we need to remember that they are all beautiful in their own right and that we are privileged to see such places. Anyways, this town offered great views and was the perfect place for a hotdog lunch.☺️Read more