Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Volunteer Project: School construction

    February 15, 2018 in Peru

    Here are some pictures from the All Hands and Hearts construction sites. I was involved in the completion of 2 schools in Yapatera. One pre-k with 3 classrooms and a Primary school with 5 classrooms, a kitchen and principle's office. It was hard to get pictures on site because we didn't keep our phones handy during work- too dirty and impractical.

    ...Why did I think it was a fun idea to volunteer for manual labor in the summertime with no air conditioning??? I'm so happy that I did it though! Lots of digging holes, backfilling sand and rock, shoveling/wheelbarrows, cement mixing, brick laying and painting. I am proud with my 33 yr-old self, the work was HARD. I was really sick during week 1 but still managed to earn my keep. And it's nice knowing I can still hold my own! Average age is about 26 among the volunteers. This experience was an important reminder that my calendar age doesn't have to define me!
    I'm already ready for my next project :) There is something beautifully simplistic about a collective lifestyle with a goal to help others. You earn your food and your bed by working hard and as a team everyday. It's refreshing compared to the daily grind and competitiveness of corporate America.
    Read more