Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    London, United Kingdom.

    July 28, 2017 in England ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    On my return from Cornwall, I moved straight in to my new flat in Acton. I was really lucky to find a great flat, not super flash, but definitely still really nice and clean and tidy, and with a bunch of really awesome flatmates - the most important thing! My first couple of nights here though were some of the only times I've felt a little homesick, but it quickly passed. I think possibly because it felt odd leaving the comfort and security of being with Bill and Steph, to moving to an almost empty flat that I felt unfamiliar in (all but one of my new flatmates were away on Summer holidays when I first arrived, so naturally everything felt much better once they all got home). Unfortunately though, on my first Friday night in the flat, I bloody went and fell down the stairs (absolutely no alcohol involved!!!) and fractured my ankle. Even though I'm well aware that there's much worse things going on in the world, I did get pretty upset about it that night and also at the hospital the next day. It really just did ruin all the dancing plans etc that I had made and worked hard for, meant that my overall fitness was hindered yet again as still hadn't recovered properly from last year's heart surgery, made feeling comfortable and settled in a new city even harder, meant that I couldn't start working as soon as I'd planned, and just of course made me wish I was at home because dealing with medical issues etc are just always so so much harder in a country away from home. Gabby came all the way across London to the hospital I was at though, and made me feel as good about the situation as possible. She was so awesome and really did an amazing job of looking after me <3 So from here on my London plans also changed quite drastically! Good buy dance classes, and audition seeking etc.....Helloooo lots of enforced rest and netflix watching etc. I feel like I managed to find a good balance of still getting out and seeing London though. While also doing anything I possibly could to help my foot heal. Managed to finally set up a UK Bank account which as many people know or have experienced for themselves, was an absolute nightmare of a process to do.

    I also started to get to know some of my family from over here! Dean and Kerry (Dean is my Dad's younger cousin) have been especially awesome. They are such cool people, and such a great couple, and have really gone out of their way to make me feel welcome and include me in things. I really really like them and am so pleased to have them in my life now. Have met heaps of other family members too, from both the James and Stacey side of my Dad's family. One of the most special being Uncle Colin, my Nana's 'baby' brother who I've always heard her talk about and she definitely has a huge soft spot for :-) Dean is Colin's son. Another person that's been awesome to spend time with has been my old very best friend from primary and intermediate school, Vicky Peck! Has been so awesome and special to reconnect with her over here, and I'm so pleased that our 5 year old selves knew to make friends with each other :-) She's who I did the London open roof Bus Tour with during this time - and yes the moonboot came along too.

    Once I was under way with some Physio and my leg was starting to heal a wee bit etc I also started working the odd day for a recruitment agency, so that was really interesting to get a taste of being part of the fancy corporate world in some of the big London City office towers! A very new experience for me. I also experienced the Notting Hill Carnival with Gabby and Vicky and some other friends, and continued to get to know my flatmates; one of the highlights being a night out we had together (again, moonboot in tow). Even with a fractured leg, it has still been really awesome setting up and discovering my new London Life :-)
    Read more