Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Better weather! Well, less rain at least

    October 1, 2019 in England ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    Sooooooo, we went to Falmouth which is only about 5 miles away. Up to Pendennis Castle, which has guarded this part of the coastline for hundreds of years, and which has guns of all ages and sizes. We finally bit the bullet (see what I did there 🤣🤣) and joined English Heritage which not only got us in free (after they'd taken £93 from my account) but meant that I got another car park sticker for my windscreen so I cant see out to drive to all the exciting places listed in the EH handbook.

    Interesting info in the castle, I hadn't realised that in the 1540s the bloody Spaniards had raided so often. They actually burnt Brighton in 1545.

    Then, as it was 1st October and officially winter, dogs were allowed on all Cornish beaches so Bonce explored rockpools which Di and I collected every available grain of sand. In our shoes.

    Nice beachside fish n chips and then as the drizzle returned we forewent the possibility of further perambulation and returned to our cottage for a wholesome dinner of one giant Bourbon biscuit and a cup of coffee.
    Read more