Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Day 7: Colonial District (Part 2)

    June 1, 2015 in Singapore ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    When I woke up this morning I thought I was going to NTU to obtain my student pass, first day at work, etc. But then I realized that today is Vesak Day, a Buddhist celebration and public holiday, and that my appointment at the university isn't until tomorrow. So I bring to you part 2 of my explorations of the colonial district.

    I started by visiting a few temples to see what this Vesak Day business was all about. The streets were packed with people giving offering off fruit and flowers, burning joss sticks (incense) while praying and rubbing the golden buddha's face and belly for good luck. I wanted to go see either the National Singapore Museum or the Singapore Art Museum across the street, but both were closed for the civic holiday. So instead I visited a few churches and then made my way to Raffle's Hotel, where I enjoyed one of Asia's most iconic beverages: the Singapore Sling. This drink is so popular (especially among tourists) that it has made Raffle's hotel the world's largest gin purchaser, requiring over 200,000 bottles of it every year.

    The tour guide I was following recommended me to go to the shopping centres in Suntec City and Marina Square, but I wasn't quite up to it so I just walked around Marina Bay instead. I must stay the views here are spectacular and I hope to see them again when the sun goes down and the lights turn on. Tomorrow I'm going to NTU (for real this time), but I hope to take some pictures to give you all an idea of the beautiful campus.
    Read more