Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Brisbane

    June 30, 2016 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 15 °C

    Australia has been on my bucket list for as long as I can remember. This spring I finally managed to organize a month-long trip to properly explore this unique country. One of my favorite locations turned out to Brisbane – and that's quite unexpected considering that I've already visited Sydney and Adelaide. But in one way or another, Brisbane simply captured my heart and made me wonder what it would be like to live in this vibrant seaside city. Here's the itinerary of my amazing long weekend in this stunning location

    Friday

    I started my long weekend with a delightful alfresco breakfast at South Bank Parklands – an amazing place at the south bank of the Brisbane River. Nothing helps to start a day like a view of a picturesque inner-city beach and the spinning Wheel of Brisbane.

    Together with a friend, I took a river cruise to Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary. (http://www.koala.net/) This is actually the world’s largest koala sanctuary and you get to cuddle a koala! I took a stroll around the park and spotted some kangaroos too.

    After lunch, I decided to get a little away from nature and closer to culture at the Queensland Museum and the breathtaking Queensland Art Gallery/Gallery of Modern Art. (https://www.qagoma.qld.gov.au/) Admiring modern and indigenous artwork, I could perfectly see the fascinating variety of cultures that make part of Australian national identity.

    Saturday

    My favorite way to start the day is a morning shopping spree. Queen Street Mall and surrounding streets are full of interesting boutiques housing creations of both international and local designers. A sales assistant told me to check out James Street in Fortitude Valley, which is a perfect mix of local Brisbane brand stores, gift boutiques and eateries.

    I really liked this part of Brisbane and even had a look at OpenAgent to check property prices in the area, only to find out they were totally out of my league. (http://www.openagent.com.au/) Well, at least I got to visit the area, didn't I?

    A friend joined me for an afternoon of adventure on the stunning Tangalooma Island in Moreton Bay. We tobogganed down the largest sand dunes in the world and hand-fed bottlenose dolphins. To close the day, we had an amazing seafood dinner at one of Eagle Street Pier precinct restaurants. What a day!

    Sunday

    After a lazy breakfast I decided to join the XXXX Brewery Tour which is basically a beer-themed journey where you get to learn many interesting things about the place – nothing short of a local landmark – and the role it played in the Australian community. (http://www.xxxx.com.au/agegate)

    I like active holidays, so after lunch I had another friend join me for an amazing twilight kayaking tour – that's one great memory! We followed this unique experience with a delicious dinner at one of South Bank’s recognized River Quay restaurants.

    Monday

    It's pointless to come to Australia and never get to see the coral reef. That's why I decided to dedicated entire Monday to exploring the beautiful Lady Elliot Island and the Great Barrier Reef.

    It's only a short flight away and definitely worth the effort – I followed a snorkeling tour and saw the coral reef at its best, brimming with life of underwater creatures I've never seen before. This is easily one of the best spots for nature lovers. Since I'm a devoted foodie, I couldn't help but stuff myself with mouthwatering seafood all day long.

    Tuesday

    This was my last day in Brisbane and I decided to say goodby to this amazing city on a relaxing cruise aboard one of its iconic and authentic paddlewheelers. Aboard the Kookaburra River Queen, I could sit back and enjoy the amazing view of the city sights. The delicious seafood buffet was just the icing on the cake. (http://kookaburrariverqueens.com/)

    Brisbane is an amazing city that caters to even the most sophisticated tastes. Moving to the next point in my Australian adventure, I left Brisbane promising myself to return – I couldn't help but feel like I've developed a connection with this unique place.
    Read more