Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Chiang Mai day 1

    March 21 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    (posting next day)
    Finally put my walking shoes to use and went on a hike today! Got a ride up to the start of the trail and was walking by 9.30. The first was called the Monk's trail up to a temple called Wat Pha Lat, originally used by the monks to walk to Chiang Mai. The temple complex was beautiful with a lush green Forrest backdrop.
    The second trail was longer and more challenging, with a vertical scramble to start off. There was no gaps in the forest for views but some huge butterflies flitting across the trail. This led up to a temple called Wat Doi Suthep, which supposedly has great views of Chiang Mai at the top, but the visibility was poor due to all the smoke.
    Last night I bought another pair of long thin trousers are my others were in the house, I was assured they were very good quality and would fit very well. After two unfortunate incidents of retying my shoes, and squatting down to take a nice photo, my new trousers were beyond repair.
    In the afternoon I made some hostel friends and we hired bikes and drove up through the mountains in hopes of a nice sunset. That did not happen, but we got a nice dinner at a local stall and got a great view of Chiang Mai at night.
    Read more