Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Vang Vieng day 3

    April 9 in Laos ⋅ ⛅ 33 °C

    Been waiting for the smoke to clear up the last couple days to do a famous viewpoint. But as it was my last full day here, just did it this morning. It's become the most popular view point in Laos as there's two motorbikes either side, which you can sit on and take photos. No one knows how they got up there, but other viewpoints have now got things at the top now too, like for instance a small plane aha.
    It was only a short 30 scramble to the top, but it was a steep uphill climb the whole way. I don't think I've ever been so sweaty. View at the top was nice, but the fact there were literal mountains of empty plastic water bottles ruined it slightly. If people can hike up a steep mountain, they're definitely capable of climbing down with their empty water bottle 🙃 very frustrating.
    Spent the afternoon chilling out, and planning my onward travel. I've changed my route (plan) to get to Ho Chi Min about three times, originally was going to travel down through Laos to the south, then get a bus through Cambodia to Vietnam. But I've heard the Laos Cambodia border can be challenging/ unpleasant, and I'd also have to pay for a Cambodian visa. I then looked at flying, but there was no direct flights, and with baggage was going to cost £180! So I've settled on getting the coach to Hanoi, and then flying down to Ho Chi Min city from there. I also was only planning to stay 3 nights here in Vang Vieng, and then spend two in the capital, Vientiane, but I've heard that's not a lot to do there. Instead I've decided to stay an extra night in Vang Vieng as it's supposed to rain tonight, so will hopefully clear up for a hot air balloon ride, but I'm not hopeful.
    The rain did finally arrive this evening after dinner, accompanied by thunder and lightening and a bonus 2 hour long power cut!
    Read more