Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Day 19: Palace of Versailles

    September 30, 2023 in France ⋅ 🌙 19 °C

    We were off to visit the French version of Windsor castle today. Having watched Marie Antoinette on netflix before we came, I was ready to have a poke around and learn a bit more. I was not prepared for the absolute over the top grandeur and oppulance that was Versailles...no wonder the peasants stormed the Bastille! The history seeping out of the walls kept Matt engrossed, so I snuck out to walk around the gardens...I didn't know there were 2000 acres of them. I took lots of photos and have lots of ideas for when we return to Mt Rankin. While I admired the plants, Matt took himself off to investigate how the support structure of the giant terrace worked. When we returned home, the Cambeys went out to a nice little French restaurant around the corner for dinner, Matt had toast and I had a glass of wine. A tiring, but pretty nice day for us all!Read more