Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 39

    Deva to Gijon

    August 26, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 22 °C

    We wake up this morning feeling great, we both had a great nights sleep, I think the hydrotherapy pool may have had something to do with it, as well as super comfy beds. We start getting ready, we need to be at breakfast at 8:30 am this morning. We are just finishing off getting ready when the phone rings, it is reception letting us know the correos is here to pick up our backpacks, I quickly finish packing my pack and we both hurry down to the lobby to hand them over. We then head for breakfast, check out and step outside, it's raining again today, we decide to call a taxi, we will be in Gijon way before check in time at our hotel and don't want to be wondering around soaking wet until 4pm when we are able to check in. It's only meant to be 7 kms today. We get into Gijon 9:45 am there isn't much open in this city yet, it's still sleeping but all that changes over the next hour, we pop into a bar for a coffee, this gives us time to Google all the sport stores and work out our plan of attack. We spend the best part of the day trying to find what we are looking for and by 7 pm tonight our mission is finally accomplished. I have finally found a pair of replacement shoes to walk in. It’s not until I buy my new pair that I turn my old pair over and realise just how worn out they actually are. It's then that the penny drops and I understand why my feet have been gradually getting worse, my shoes are done, finished, kaput, they have served me so well up until recently, they have carried me and my backpack up and down many hills on all kinds of surfaces for the past 40 days and would have travelled over 500 kms. Thank you Altra’s you have been amazing!! I hope these next shoes serve me and my feet as well as you did.Read more