Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 45

    Cadavedo to Luarca

    September 1, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    We wake to a beautiful day; the sun is shining, the birds are singing, and our shoes have dried out overnight. We hit the trail just before 10am walking on quite country roads that lead us through quite country towns. We break at a playground and enjoy a mid-morning snack then decide to have a go on the swings and other equipment at the park, it's nice to tap into my inner child, remembering what it's like to be a kid, swinging on a swing with the wind in my hair, building momentum, getting higher and higher. We then kick on, I am absolutely loving this Camino, the constant up and downs are challenging, but I think I am getting used to it, the countryside is so beautiful, the trails we walk on, the quite paths alongside rivers, the different shades of green we see throughout our days, the sound of the birds every morning as we walk, the passing of fellow pilgrims and locals, mostly with a smile and a 'Buen Camino', the barking dogs of all shapes and sizes, protective as we walk past their yards, the Camino markers and yellow arrows thoughtfully spaced, pointing us in the direction of our final destination, there is just so much to enjoy and appreciate out here on trail. I feel like I have stepped back in time, life seems simple, back to basics without all the distractions and constant grind that has become daily life. I truly think this is the main reason I feel an enormous pull of talking, planning & walking Caminos, for me it provides a reset of mind, body and soul. We finally get to the outskirts of Luarca, we are positioned above the town and the view from up here is stunning, Luarca is picture-perfect! It is quite a steep descent down into the town with many steps, this has been the case with many coastal villages, towns and cities along this Camino. We locate our hotel, book in then go exploring. Whilst we are out and about, we decide to find our bus stop ready for our trip to Santiago de Compostela tomorrow. We are going to meet up with George and his family, I can't wait to meet them & hear all about their Porto Camino.Read more