Satellite
Show on map
  • Lisboa for a night

    August 27, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ 🌙 66 °F

    Landed late because of a delayed flight, got in at 1am to shakily navigate getting a taxi in Portuguese to my hotel for the night, The Grand Lisboa Hotel & Spa, somewhere I knew I could eat late once I got in and could get a massage the next day before heading out to Albufeira.

    My cab driver greeted me with an "Ola Bella" which threw me off for just a moment until I remembered, I'm in Europe now. He spoke English and chatted me up about wage issues in the country and how hardly any native Portuguese lived there anymore (he was Brazilian) for my 10min ride to my hotel. Even though it was 1am, check in was simple and swift. The lobby was gorgeous, the elevator was hip and began my high hopes for the room.
    The room was small and simple but I did not care at all, got myself some food and good rest.
    The next morning I wanted to see what it might be like wheeling my two suitcases a block down the street to the train station. I set out on foot to survey the neighborhood and find a cafe. The train station was impeccably close to my hotel but the cobblestone streets were horrendously bumpy. I walked around the train station, gauging how easy it would be to find my way to Albufeira.
    There was a small Cafe inside the train station where I grabbed a single cappuccino and Pastel de Nata, a delicious little pastry that tasted like maybe banana and custard.
    On my way back to the hotel, I paid attention to the people in the streets and what they were wearing. I seem to be the only person in jean shorts and definitely the only person wearing sunglasses.
    After some thought and rearranging my packing, I convinced myself that I would just take an Uber to Albufeira. The ride was 45 minutes long and only 30 Euros. It was 20 euros more than the train but also an hour and a half less, not to mention the peace of mind I would have to be able to nap or be on my phone during the ride.

    My body was screaming at me from the jet lag so I went ahead and booked a massage that did not disappoint. The woman was so kind and so experienced and at the very end requested that I, "live a good life."
    I grabbed myself a small sandwich and checked out of the hotel while I waited for my Uber, the doorman, Leon, was a couple years younger than me and very friendly. He chatted me up while I waited, seeming very amused I had come there on my own to go to yoga teacher training and invited me to come visit him again.

    I was told that Lisbon felt very safe and was incredibly friendly and helpful and im just one day there, I definitely experienced that. I can't wait to return.
    Read more