Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Day 16 - Bapaume to Perrone

    May 6, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    I'm walking through a very small section of what was known in WWI as the Western Front. Today, I saw my first actual poppy! Not a manufactured mass produced one or a beautifully hand crafted one, but the real thing. I walked down the Avenue des Australiens here in Perrone and visited an Australian War Memorial (on that same road). Call me corny, but I sang our National Anthem, out loud (and we all know how loud my voice is), not the second verse (we don't believe that, or offer it, anymore) in front of the statue. I felt it was the least I could do to recognise and acknowledge those young people who had no idea what they were getting themselves into and still did their absolute best. My Great Uncle being one of them. Also, I climbed that church tower, right up to the bells (should have taken off my backpack). When I got to the top, I was so scared that I had to close my eyes, and I forced myself to take a photo of one of the bells as I clutched the rail. Finally, I crossed the Canal du Nord and was lucky enough for two boats to be coming through.Read more