Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Day 18 - Trefcon to Saint Quentin

    May 8, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    The forecast for today was fog, and it lasted my entire walk (I'm in a place where the sun doesn't burn off the fog!). This suited me perfectly as my mind was not in a place to appreciate the world around me. Today was a day of reflection and self-recrimination, which was a step up from the spiral of the previous night. The cause; a) I realised that the only meals I would be getting, if I stayed in Trefcon for the second night, for a rest day, would be breakfast - thus realising my fear of starving in France, b) the end points of my guide book and the VF app differed on 3 of the next 5 days, and, last, but not least, I'd run out of cigarettes! The outcome of the reflection: two core elements of myself; inherent laziness, bolstered by naive optimism (everything will work out), may prevent me from completing this adventure. I realise now that I must be better organised and informed of what is coming up for me and plan for it. I can do the walking itself; not counting my walk today, and according to my garmin, I have walked 163.1 km since my last rest day. What I can't do without is food and a place to stay every night that provides adequate support services. So I've checked out each of the places I am staying over the next week to ensure that I get those things - apparently, that is possible (at this stage).Read more