Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Day 20 - Seraucourt la Grand to Tergnier

    May 10, 2023 in France ⋅ 🌧 10 °C

    The rain held off for the first 5 km or so, and then, all the gear, my rain gear, and my backpack that I had managed to dry overnight got soaked all over again! The walk started across farmland on what was an old stone road and then became a lengthy walk next to the Canal du Saint Quentin with only one quagmire to contend with. It was lovely. I saw some herons and another six locks (no photos as they all look pretty much alike). I got to Tergnier and tried at three places to get accommodation (not one responded to my previous emails and I can't ring as my UK SIM will not let me make calls) and the only 'Hotel' open (apparently this is a 'recovering' area) doesn't offer accommodation anymore! Luckily, there is a train station here so I'm cheating and catching the train to Laon! To be perfectly honest, it's probably for the best as the walk between Tergnier and Laon is at least 39 km, and the forecast is for thunderstorms tomorrow! I'm not up for that. I saw a lot of pilgrim spray on signs today, and I've added some in my pics.Read more