Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Day 25 - Reims to Trepail

    May 15, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 11 °C

    Obviously, the Cathedral in Reims is a highlight. But a walk through Basilique Saint Remi is also worth the visit. The VF path going out of Reims was along the canal (12 km worth). It's a very nice way to leave an urban area, though a little hard on the feet as it's all paved. Believe it or not, those water pumps work. All you have to do is rotate the brass handle at the top. I saw signs of commerce with what looked like wheat being loaded onto a barge. After the canal walk, I moved into farmland for a while and then onto the vineyards. I saw a few names I recognised. The day ended with a mixture of forest and vineyard walking. It looks like the French forestry department takes a similar approach to our Australian ones - take out whatever you can get (sustainably, of course 😉). I saw a little snake today. It looked sluggish and probably could have used some sun (no complaints from me, I got a good lot of sun this morning). I met my first walking pilgrim on the path this afternoon. A Brit, who sleeps 'wild' as he calls it. It seems to me that those with a tent are much better served and have a lot more options than those of us who are relying on hotels, etc., on the VF. The highlight of my day, though, was a WhatsApp call from my girls - I was so happy to see them 💗 ☺️ 💕 😊.Read more