Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Day 28 - rest day (Chalons en Champagne)

    May 18, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    I felt the impact of our car focused world today. It was extremely difficult for the Tourist office staff and the Hotel reception to understand that I wanted directions out of the city so that I could walk the 16 km return to L'Epine where the Basilique Notre Dame, apparently a must visit for pilgrims to Spain on the St. Jacques route, is located. Anyway, I'm glad I persisted. The walk was pleasant, and what I'd failed to appreciate was that today was a public holiday in France - Ascension Day: a big day for Notre Dame herself - and just after I got there the place began to fill with brothers, nuns and lay folk, and a service started. I stayed, sat towards the back, and was privileged to be among some beautiful singers, both male and female. The French are much tougher than us; they kneel directly onto the stone floor.Read more