Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 50

    Day 47 - Mouthier Haute Pierre to Pontar

    June 6, 2023 in France ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    A spectacular day of walking today. It began with a walk through the Gorges de Noailles, which follows the river Loue to its source. I really felt in my element as it was exactly like a bush walk at home. You follow the river up and up. It reminded me of the walks to Minnamurra Falls (NSW) and through Mosman Gorge (QLD). I ascented to a height of 900m today (from around 450m) and descended to around 650m at Pontarlier. Another record for me on this journey. Unbelievably, I know of 7 pilgrims walking the same stage of the VF today; a couple from WA (Krishna and David), Hans (from Belguim who I've mentioned before), a French woman who started the VF three days ago (from her home and going to Rome), one other couple (Marco and Zoha from Luxemburg - I met them briefly this morning), and myself. Finally, I am very happy as I was able to buy a proper rain poncho (to protect my front pockets) and rubber tips for my poles (somehow, I arrived in the UK with only one tip! I've been using a temporary workaround since Bruay-le-Bussiere: 3 rubber stoppers and sticky tape) at Decathlon this afternoon. Note: I have included a photo of Hans.Read more