Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 52

    Day 49 - Jougne to Orbe

    June 8, 2023 in Switzerland ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    My first day in Switzerland was a real treat. Just as I was taking a photo of the Chapel of Saint Maurice (just outside of Jougne), I heard someone calling out my name! It was the Italian woman, Paola, and the Brit (who prefers to be anonymous). I assumed they were days ahead of me as they are both so fit and strong. It was lovely to see them, and we walked together to Orbe. We had all elected to take the historic route to Jougne (an alternative Path), and therefore, there were no way markers today, so I was glad to have someone else take the lead. We crossed the pedestrian and bike border from France into Switzerland at around 9:30 a.m., and the Brit had a 1/2 bottle of champagne to celebrate! Which was just as well as it really was a non-event otherwise! Though, having others with me meant that I got a photo! I am so glad we did take the historic route as we got to walk through the Gorges de I'Orbe - it was spectacular. I will now be walking the "70" the official VF route in Switzerland. I snuck into the church here at Orbe and took some photos - they are renovating, and it's not open!Read more