Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Day -2 - Bilbao

    September 25, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    I arrived in Bilbao around midday. I walked around quite a bit this afternoon and found the city to be very beautiful. I arrived with no preconceived ideas or knowledge as I was only interested in one building: Frank Gehry's Guggenheim Museum. What I found is a wide variety of building styles that work well together as, and I may find this all over Spain, there is an attention to detail, either a building feature or well considered, and placed, greenery that enhances the structures overall. I'm very tired now as I didn't get a lot of sleep on the plane trips over to Spain, so I'm really hoping I sleep well tonight. One thing I found a little confronting was the two machine gun armed guards at the airport in Bilbao! Oh, and I must share my delight at being greeted at the airport exit by a driver with my name on a sign (his iPad really) - just like in the movies - I've arranged a few of these pre and post Camino. One disappointment; I wasn't able to get into any churches!Read more