Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Day 0 - Sarria

    September 27, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    The drive from Santiago to Sarria was pleasant. It was mostly freeway at 120 klms an hour, and I recalled when I was driving in Montana and the speed limit on the freeway was 120 miles per hour! It was quite a misty morning which always makes the countryside look great. The first town we drive through was packed with pilgrims, which made me a little concerned about how I'm going to be able to deal with the crowds - but I suppressed that thought. I got to Sarria before 11 a.m. and incredibly, my room was ready, so I was able to come right up. I dropped my things off and then set out to explore the town. As you would expect, there are references to the Camino everywhere in town, and I was very pleased to get some hat pins and patches. I'm now waiting for the rest of the ACU group that I will be walking with. They are all on the train from Madrid. I have everything ready to set off tomorrow.Read more