Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Day 2 - Portomarin to Eirexe

    September 29, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    We headed out just before 8 a.m. in the dark into a very thick fog. The climb out of Portomarin was lovely, and we seemed to climb for the rest of the day (exhausting). The fog stayed around for ages, and once it lifted, the day got very hot - never good for me. The scenery was amazing. We seemed to be walking above the clouds. I started to get a sense of the Camino today; all these people, including myself, are all heading toward the same place. I began to feel an underlying sense of excitement and to feel that I am a very small part of something huge. I discovered a new drink today: Tinto de Verano. It is made up of red wine (all the local reds we have tried have been delicious) and lemon and is very refreshing. Our hotel tonight is off the Way, and we were transported here this afternoon and will get a ride back to the Way tomorrow. The hotel is lovely and my room gorgeous.Read more