Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Day 14 - Barcelona (post Camino)

    October 10, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    What a day! Today, I experienced La Sagrada Familia (the Holy Family) and Casa Mila, locally known as 'La Pedrera' (literally 'the stone' but named as such because the locals thought it looked like a quarry). I also walked around the Gothic quarter at a little bit but had to return to my room to recharge my phone (after having taken so many photos)! My eyes flooded with tears as I saw the exterior of Gaudi's genius for the first time up close. No pictures could prepare me for the brilliance of his work. Once I got inside, I was overcome by the sheer magnitude of the structure. But more than that; I have never been in a church more fit for purpose - the glorification of God. I went up the Torre de la Pasion (Passion Tower) and was so glad I did. Casa Mila was also fantastic. It is sun filled and cool and, obviously, incredibly beautiful. I learnt two things today; a church is made a Basilica by the Pope and Gaudi invented the first underground carpark in an apartment complex - Casa Mila was built in 1906 and so hosted both cars and carriages.Read more