Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Day 16 - Montserrat (post Camino)

    October 12, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 20 °C

    It is a public holiday in Spain today; they are celebrating both the Day of the Virgin of El Pilar and the day America was discovered. Today, I took a bus trip to Montserrat. We got to ride on the Cogwheel Train (my first time on that type of rail), and I was thrilled. In our 'free time' I walked through the museum up there and it was fantastic (early Picasso, Dali, Monet, Renoir, Dega, Pissaro, even a Caravaggio, along with some Spainsh artists I didn't know). After that, we visited a vineyard for tapas and wine tasting. On the way back to my hotel, I stopped by Sagrada Familia to see it in the afternoon sunlight. Naturally, it was stunning! My big news, though, is that when I was rejoining my tour group, someone called my name and lo and behold Christine, a BMC walking mate, called out to me. She'd just arrived in Montserrat ready for more wonderful adventures! We didn't get much time to catch up as I had to go. But it was a real treat to see her. And lucky, as the place was packed with people.Read more