Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Day 18 - Barcelona (post Camino)

    October 14, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    I've run myself ragged over the past five days, trying to fit everything in. So, today, I took it a lot easier. I visited the Palau de la Musica Catalana, the Cathedral, and ended my evening at Casa Sors to immerse myself in the Spanish art of Flamenco. Opulent is the best word I can use to describe the Palau de la Musica. Everywhere you looked in that building was a feast for the eyes! The stand out feature is the skylight - I have never seen anything so impressive and beautiful. The Cathedral was wonderful, and I highly recommend the audio tour and the lift to the rooftop. They keep 13 geese in the cloister to protect the building. And have a piece called the Monstrance, which contains the largest gemstones I have ever seen (no photos allowed in that section). I even got to see a small Matisse exhibition at the Cathedral. All for the modest price of 11€. The Flamenco performance blew me away. The guitar, the voice, and the feet all work together so well. I had no idea that the feet played the role, as well as the finger clicking of a third (and fourth) instrument. I met a lovely couple from Massachusetts there: Doreen and Herb.Read more