Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Day 1: Echevennoz to Aosta

    April 23 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 8 °C

    I had the most delicious meal last night in the trattoria a few steps from my accommodation. The meal was cooked by my host Erik's parents. I ate my plentiful and also delicious breakfast to the sounds of Erik playing the accordion (video attached). What a wonderful way to start the day. The walk today wasn't long (17.53 km) but descended about 600m. My knees really felt it. The Way started right outside my accommodation and followed an impressive irrigation canal (Ru Neuf) filled with pristine water for quite some time. Then, I made my way down into the valley. It was a beautiful sunny day with the snow capped peaks changing minute by minute as the clouds moved across them. Aosta is a reasonably sized town so I gathered some food supplies for the walk tomorrow, took in some sights and visited both the Cathedral and a smaller church. Three things impress me about the Italian churches I have seen so far: the incredible variety and colour of the marble, the interior and exterior frescoes, and the detailed painting on the ceilings and arches.Read more