Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Vietjet Red Eye: random thoughts

    February 25 in Vietnam ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    - I stand by my hard stance that children under 5 (ESPECIALLY babies) should be BANNED from red eye flights. The first hour of the flight had me wanting to chlorophyll this toddler who viscerally screamed for the first hour straight. No amount of loops noise cancelling earbuds could stop the displeasure. I glared at the child many times, and I felt every last egg in my ovaries die as my pure disdain for children was solidified. Luckily it shut up and went to sleep (so we all got to sleep as well).
    - the seats on VietJet are SNUG. It's like they were custom designed to just fit Michael and I's thick ass thighs in them like a pig in a blanket. You wouldn't want to be overweight on their flight because you ain't fitting. Still, the seats themselves are comfy as, and I was able to sleep quite comfortably (and Michaels snoring indicates he's out like a light too).
    - paying $15 extra to get the emergency exit seats was a godsend and I will do it again on any red eye. All the legroom and floor room to chill out in.
    - you can pay $900k (about $75AUD) to go lie down the back on a full row of seats. This was tempting to me to get away from the enraged baby but I thought I'd at least try sleeping sitting and I nodded off fine so there was no need.
    - the eye masks I bought from Kmart are fantastic. They are the "for fake eyelash girlies" type, which means they have indented eye sockets, so the properly fit and feel great. $4 well spent. Also, shoutout to my gymnastics friend Amelia for lending us these expensive fancy neck pillows from TRTL. I thought I'd hate it, but I have zero neck pain and it's way easier to nod off having your neck not have to push backwards.
    - overall, once the baby shut up, sleep was had, and the flight was cruisy. Pretty great considering I paid $240 each way per ticket.
    Read more