Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    The weirdest massage ever

    February 25 in Vietnam ⋅ ☀️ 34 °C

    I decided to have an aromatherapy massage at a spa down the road from our hotel whilst Michael slept off some jetlag. I went in thinking I was having an aromatherapy session, you know, where they rub soothing oils and gently massage away your troubles.

    It's a good thing I'm a gymnast and flexible. Because this was not Australian aromatherapy. This woman pretzeled me in ways I did not foresee. Forwards, backwards, she used feet, knees, elbows, her head, her entire body at points. It was like as if an osteo session and a wrestling match were combined. I was twisted and cracked all over from my fingers, my neck, back, to my knees and toes. At one point I was practically in a bridge with her under me stretching me open ( the gymnasts will understand what this would look like). Throw in the fact that I'm also almost entirely naked during this whole session. It was surreal.

    Also, there was the cutest tiniest dog. Super random. Alas, despite the pain and sheer surprise of the whole thing, much of it was incredibly relaxing, and I came out ready for a nice jet lagged nap for a few hours before we head out again for some Korean hot pot (we are staying in district 7 which is basically HCMs Koreatown so figured we should get some Korean food whilst here).
    Read more