Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    Leon

    October 2, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    Days 28 and 29 - Leon. I can’t decide which town I like more - Burgos or Leon! There is a 7 day festival going on to celebrate the patron Saint of Leon. My hostel is right on the main street through town and all day there are parades going past my balcony and all night people are partying - loudly! I feel that the Spanish don’t care about money and work - they make sure they have fun, and I really like that about them.
    The cathedral in Leon is absolutely spectacular! From the outside it looks beautiful and on the inside it is breathtaking. There are stained glass windows all around at three levels. And what’s amazing is that from the outside the stained glass windows are not at all obvious.
    The other really nice experience was the Casa Botines designed by Antoni Gaudi in 1892. It now houses the Gaudi Casa Botines Museum - devoted to the architecture and construction of the Casa Boutines as well as some history around Gaudi and his works. I never realized what an architectural genius he was and how prolific.
    Read more