Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36

    Astorga and Rabanal Del Camino

    October 5, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 10 °C

    Day 31 in Astorga and Day 32 in Rabanal - it was a short walk to Astorga, 17 kms and then Rabanal, 20 kms. Astorga is a gem of a town. It’s a small town where locals of all ages gather in the town square to eat, drink and just generally hang out. I mostly sat in the square - plaza España and drank wine with Camino friends. I also visited the local cathedral which is quite imposing but doesn’t really compete with the cathedrals in Burgos and Leon.
    Today I arrived in Rabanal early afternoon. It is a beautiful town - everything is made of stone - house walls, the roads, fences etc. After lunch I went for a wonderful ‘deep tissue’ massage that totally relaxed me and relived the knee aches. In the evening I went to hear Gregorian chants in the local church and then a really good pilgrim dinner with friends. The next few days are supposed to be more challenging. Tomorrow there is a very steep descent in the last 10 kms - about 3,500’. My knees are going to take a beating.
    I could get used to this life - wake up early, pack my 5 things into my back pack, walk many kms, arrive and check into Albergue, shower, wash clothes, eat, drink wine, meet up with friends, sight see, and go to sleep. Repeat the next day.
    Read more