Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Degas, Monet, Manet, Cezanne, Sisley ...

    September 17, 2016 in France ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    A late start to the day. Last night I was achingly tired. All of me was aching.
    I slept through my alarm and woke after 9. The room has blockout blinds so the light doesn't get in.
    First task was to post some stuff back to myself. Should have been simple right? It probably is if you don't have to translate the address lable and customs forms. It took about 45 minutes.

    Musee d'Orsay was on the agenda today. To get there I had to go through the Tuileries - a formal garden next door to the the Louvre. I had lunch there - a croque monsier - toasted ham and cheese sandwich with the cheese on the outside. It was okay, another french food to check off the list. There were plenty of birds around waiting for crumbs. They were quite bold.

    Across the river was the Musee d'Orsay, a museum in an old railway station. It was beautiful inside. I spent ages in the Impressionist gallery. These paintings are definitely the type I prefer. I was excited to see Edgar Degas' dancer of 14 years. I saw a documentary on it several years ago. I also liked his ballet paintings.
    I spent nearly three hours there. I only left because they were closing.

    On the way home I stopped to go shopping at Bazar de l'Hotel de Ville, a huge department store. I did some shopping and lots of window shopping. There was so much I could have bought...
    Back to the hotel for another home cooked meal - fish and veg. It's been nice to cook simple meals.

    Photos
    Tuileries
    Bird at lunch
    Love locks - people/lovers write their names on the lock, attach the lock the the bridge and throw the key in the river.
    Ballet rehearsel on the stage by Edgar Degas
    Dancer of 14 years
    Starry night by van Gough
    Read more